top of page

INDUSTRY INSIDER | Eggman Studios Interview | 13/11/18

Updated: Jan 8, 2019

Hidden away in the streets of Dunfermline is Eggman Studio and soon to be Records. Ran by Darren Forbes of 'Shambolics' the studios are the up and coming hub of the local Fife music scene for fresh new acts. I visited Darren a couple weeks back to have a chat about the goings on in Eggman empire.


How and when did the studio open?

'About 2015, it was just me that opened it myself before the Shambolics, I just opened it as a rehearsal room Then later on 2 guys called Dominic joined me and that was about early 2016, that's when it became a recording studio. It was just a rehearsal room I partied unit then.'


You don't typically think of Fife as being on the map musically compared to Edinburgh or Glasgow, so why open the studios here? Did you feel there was a need for it?

' Well in a small way but I think that Dunfermline is on the rise. I think it's no far, well it's a long mile from Glasgow but like what's better than Glasgow? I wouldny say Edinburgh is that good the now, it's no in a good state is it?'


[ Aye but that doesny apply if you are a 4 piece male indie band that wears white socks.]

'Dundee's alright but it was strongest 10 year ago. For the size Dunfermline is it's done well and hopefully it picks up even more.'


So who is your team and what are your roles?

'There has been a big change in things lately at Eggman Studios.. our team now consists of Myself, Scott Williamson & Scott Thomson. We all attended college together and have worked together frequently as students so its exciting times now at Eggman and I'm looking forward to working with them both. Both Scott's recently recorded Lewis Capaldi at college last year.. he's now one of the biggest acts in music to break through this year and is quickly becoming a household name so our portfolio has now changed for the better and hopefully its something we can keep building on.'


What's involved in the day to day running of the studios?

' Just winging it pretty much and double booking folk by accident. I'm trying to be more active online and build a social presence, we're putting a lot more work into the studio at the moment like we're closing over the end of the year to refurbish. We mostly do rehearsals at night and record during the day so trying to make it more active during the day.'


As an artist yourself how does it compare producing your own work compared to other people?

' Well as I say I've only started doing a bit of production myself recently. It's good, you're being total creative saying 'I think you should put this in here' or ' do this, this way' so you're bring creative in a different way. I've been working with a hip-hop artist which is totally out of my comfort zone but like it's a good challenge.'


Briefly, how did you get into sound/audio production and what advice would you give to someone starting out?

'I done it at college and to be honest I done it to pass time so I could spend more time on the Shambolics. I'd only just started and I was like I could either get a job or focus on this and it kinda tied in with my rehearsal room as well so I never went out on my own interest. I just went to wing it but I got more into it when I was there. Because I'm winging it I canny really give much advice. Just go for it and if you like it graft at it, that's all I can say really.'


What is your opinion of the local music scene in Scotland?

'I think it's starting to get better, it died for about 5 year but it looks like it's on the rise. It's a tough game, just the way the whole music industry is the now it's a hard hard game for any young bands. I feel like I've been doing it forever and I've only been in it 3 year but if you want to try and get anywhere with it you've got to commit absolutely everything to it and focus your whole life on it.'


How do you think the Scottish music scene compares to the rest of the UK?

'I think we're more independent, there seems to be a lot more opportunity in England like big promoters and labels so I think it's harder for Scottish acts. Look at Gerry Cinnamon, he's done everything on his own to get to where he is, it's good seeing what he's done and it's kinda kicked open the door for a lot of bands who will see the graft he's put in and think that's what we need to do. I think it takes Scottish acts longer to make it than English. That sounds pretty bias I'll probably look back on that and think I'm a fucking idiot for answering like that but I do think it's harder for Scottish acts.'


Finally, what's your upcoming and future plans for Eggman Studios?

'We're just starting on Eggman Records so we're trying to get that on the go with the first single coming from Lee J.C the rapper. We're just trying to develop it, closing soon to refurbish and build it up in stages.'


Exciting times ahead for Darren and Eggman Studios, keep an eye out on what they have coming up in the local music scene!



LINKS N STUFF:



51 views0 comments
bottom of page